Initially, the graduate programmes were administered by the School (now Faculties) and the Registry. In October 1982, the School of Graduate Studies was formally established with Professor E.J. Alagoa as the first Dean, and it became necessary to streamline the procedures for the operation of graduate programmes. The General Regulations approved by Senate required each Faculty to set up a "Departmental Graduate Studies Committee" to make recommendations regarding all matters concerning graduate programmes to its Faculty Board. Senate also established the “Higher Degrees Committee” (a Committee of the School of Graduate Studies) to “advise Senate on all matters relating to higher degrees”.

Read more: History



To implement Senate Policy and Guidelines for the initiation, consolidation and co-ordination of innovation research, provide quality administrative support for graduate programmes, equip research laboratories in the academic departments and ensure availability of data for national development. 


Mission of the College

To pursue academic excellence, advancement of knowledge and community service through capability development, promotion of scholarship and policy relevant researches that address the challenges of contemporary society.


Vision of the College

To be ranked among the best graduate schools in Africa, in the provision of quality staff, programmes and facilities and renowned for its teaching, research, innovation and knowledge transfer.

News and Events

2017/2018 PG Form Application Procedure (2) 2017/2018 PG Form Application Procedure (2) Tuesday, 17 May 2016 Print Your Payment Slip and Proceed to the Bank with your payment slip to make... More detail
2017/2018 Form Sales Advert 2017/2018 Form Sales Advert Wednesday, 09 September 2015 APPLICATION FOR GRADUATE PROGRAMMES IN THE 2017/2018 SESSION Applications are... More detail
You are here: Home About Us